2. Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies

THE BOOK: Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies.

PUBLISHED IN: 2014.

THE AUTHOR: Kelvin L. Singleton.

Kelvin SingletonTHE EDITOR: Kelvin L. Singleton, Editor-in-Chief, Jordan Publishing Company.

THE PUBLISHER: Self-Published, Kelvin L. Singleton.

SUMMARY: When Deputy Director of the Census Bureau Evan Parker discovers that the American Census is a lie and factions of the American Government, including two presidents, have killed to keep this terrible secret in the name of national security a nationwide manhunt ensues. If this information is not contained before it can be disseminated to the American public, the threat of total anarchy looms. CIA Director Vincent Sterne, with the blessings of a terrified sitting American President, discriminately, utilizes the resources of the Central Intelligence Agency to draw the noose tighter around Evan Parker and his family members, who desperately evade the net of lies and deceit sequestering them from American citizens and the national media. Under the white-hot gaze of a mysterious high-priest, Kaleem Kinzana, the ominous rhythm of the voodoo drums thrum across the continental U.S., plying the forces of dark magic as the Parker family seeks refuge alongside the only man on earth with the capability of saving them. Even prominent civil rights leaders are drawn into this drama as Vincent Sterne will run nothing short of afoul to silence his elusive quarry.

THE BACK STORY: I wrote Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies in 1995-96. I’m no religious nutcase, because I believe God wanted it written. Given today’s polarized state of political affairs, social distress, and mounting racial tensions, many have deemed this novel prophetic. Back then, the Internet was not so widely used as it is today. Even so, most of my research was done in libraries throughout the greater Charleston, South Carolina area. Much of which, you would be hard-pressed to find on the world wide web. Curious, isn’t it? In a fever pitch, it actually took me a little more than two weeks of non-stop writing on paper; any paper I could get my hands on. When Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies was done, it loomed a staggering 1107 pages after transcribing and deciphering my own sweeping handwriting to typed text. Incidentally, I had to then teach myself how to type. That was 20 years ago, with numerous rewrites and proofreading until I was satisfied with the end product.

WHY THIS TITLE?: This novel started out as Black Tide Rising, but because of the many events that actually took place after its original conception, the subtitle Dark Prophecies seemed a necessary thing. It was first called prophetic by an evangelist,

whom I sought out to read those error-filled pages just to be certain that I had not damned my soul to hell for the sin of blasphemy. After endorsements by a few preachers and a Bishop, I believe my soul will be safe. However, those who traverse these pages may find they have a very different view on my disposition with the Almighty.

WHY SOMEONE WOULD WANT TO READ IT: What makes this novel unique is the method behind my madness. It accentuates new ideas, even terrifies those who wish to keep us all separated. We live in a world that is both driven and torn by political, racial, and religious affiliations. My goal in writing Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies is not to further the divide between races, but to illuminate the hazards of continuing to allow such things to keep humankind from reaching the rich promise of hope and togetherness at the very pinnacle of our existence upon and within the harmony of our Mother Earth.

REVIEW COMMENTS:

This book nearly got me fired and I own my own law firm. I couldn’t put it down. I read this book during the morning into lunch, after dinner at the stop light. I had to force myself to put it down. It’s a must read. The depth of the characters and the plot of this book had me on an emotional roller coaster. This author is amazing the way he draws you in. It’s well worth the read. Just don’t get fired doing so. – Diana Brown, Goodreads.

It is said that the final chapter(s) of a book often disappoint. I’m happy to say that is not in this case here. I was on the edge of my seat from beginning to end! I thoroughly enjoyed reading Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies, which I conveniently ordered here thru Amazon/Createspace.com. Get your copy today! Kelvin Singleton, thanks for this fantastic, mesmerizing creation. – Olen Grant.

Normally, I’m a slow reader, often using books to help me to sleep. Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies, however, was almost too engrossing to put away even when I was tired and had to go to work the next day. Like the character Melissa Parker, as she read very disturbing excerpts from Kinzana’s voodoo Bible in Chapter 1, I found this novel difficult to pause. I’ve never been so concerned about the welfare of fictional characters in my life. Some of the longer chapters are truly exhaustive, but length and breadth have nothing to do with it. The religious, supernatural, and political aspects of this novel forced me to wonder—what if—from beginning to end. I actually asked forgiveness for even considering such things. What a great read. Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies is truly prophetic. Mr. Singleton, I am a fan for life. – Sharrie Adams.

AUTHOR PROFILE: A Scorpio, born November 11, 1964. I am the oldest of ten children, but the only one who had to grow up contending with the painful horrors of Sickle Cell Anemia. If it is my burden to endure so that my siblings could live happy, healthy lives then so be it. I would like to inspire and encourage others, who also share this malediction, and their supportive family members, toward the pursuit dreams. Never allow the disease to dictate the quality of your lives or the desires of your hearts. It is not a measuring stick of your humanity or self-worth if you do not allow yourselves to wallow in what cannot be changed. Be confident, within responsibility of physical boundaries, of course, and set your goals as high as you like. Most people cannot begin to imagine what we suffer in the throes of crisis, but bolster your spirit to rise above it. Although the body has physical limitations, the mind is a boundless asset where dreams are attainable. I was told by doctors that I would never live to see age 16, then 21. Yet, here I am. Before I leave this earth, I will loudly declare, “Here I am. I did this. Here is my defining mark!”

My first novel is entitled It Is Written http://www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/ItIsWritten.html and http://www.amazon.com/Kelvin-L.-Singleton/e/B00JLKMB1Q AUTHOR .

AUTHOR COMMENTS: In authoring Black Tide Rising: Dark Prophecies, it is my calling to write this world a better place because I still believe in the redemptive qualities of humankind. Sometimes it is necessary to illuminate what lies in the heart of darkness to see the light masked by despair. It is a matter of choice. This novel was not intended for a single demographic, but it encompasses the concerns, or what should be the concerns of all people.

SAMPLE CHAPTER: (I’ll provide a link).

WHERE TO BUY IT: http://www.amazon.com/Kelvin-L.-Singleton/e/B00JLKMB1Q and https://www.createspace.com/4894296.

PRICE: Kindle Edition: $9.99 Print Book/Paperback $19.23.

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: Facebook pages: https://www.facebook.com/kelvin.singleton.31 https://www.facebook.com/kelvin.singleton.3 poetry/blog: http://visionsofwords.com/ Email: visionsofwords@gmail.com and kelvinsingleton1@gmail.com Twitter: https://twitter.com/Iamklsingleton Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/kelvinsingleton/

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

