2. Homecoming

HomecomingAUTHOR: Kate Hasbrouck.

PUBLISHED: July, 2014.

PUBLISHER: Koehler books, Virginia Beach, VA. Writes Kate: “They took a chance on me as a new author and I couldn’t be more excited about the work they did! I love the cover design, everyone I worked with was really encouraging and patient with someone like me who was totally new to this whole publishing world!”

EDITOR: Joe Coccaro, Koehler Books.

ABOUT THE BOOK: Kerana is from a world without sin, and her people are a perfect people. Eli is a Fallen human who is trying to escape the darkness of his past. Her job is to protect the humans, and when he discovers her secret, nothing in Eden will ever be the same.

THE BACK STORY: “Writing has always been my greatest passion in life. I have written many stories growing up, and Homecoming was a response to my sister’s love of the supernatural stories. It also has a message about forgiveness, and I think that so many people struggle with things that have happened in their life or people who have wronged them, and among other things, this story was written to show people that you can find forgiveness, and that it will set you free.”

 Kate Hasbrouck

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: “I am 25 years old, happily married for 3 years this August to a wonderful man named David who is a pastor. We live in Florida and have two Ragdoll cats l, Rocky and Sophie, who entertain us more than TV does! I’m a big nerd at heart, absolutely love all things pasta (except with seafood), and am in the beginning stages of editing my second novel, the sequel to “Homecoming,” currently titled “Becoming”!

WHY SOMEONE WOULD WANT TO READ IT: “Homecoming” is an interesting mix of the Christian and sci/fi genres that should appeal to both sets of readers.

READER COMMENTS:

By Emily Anne K on April 8, 2015

“In Homecoming, by Kate Hasbrouck, Kerana has finally entered adulthood, which means she has to spend a year in the human world. Going to college on Earth and trying to blend in with the humans is harder than she first anticipated. She draws the attention of nearly everyone around her, including Eli. Kerana’s encounters with Eli might just spill the secret of her home planet of Eden.

“Homecoming was different than I expected. I’m not quite sure what I expected, but it was certainly unlike any other book I have read. In a good way, of course. I confess, I could barely put the book down. The characters were sweet and had depth. Seeing Kerana experience earth and both the dangers and joys of it was entertaining. Both of the main characters grew in many ways.”


on April 16, 2015

“Homecoming,” by Kate Hasbrouck, is a unique fantasy/Christian allegory sort of novel. It almost reminded me of the few YA angel fiction stories I’ve read. Yet it was different.

Kerana is an Eldurian, sent to earth to protect and help the humans. Eli is a broken young man, just trying to get through day-to-day college life. Theirs is an unlikely story. Incredible things are bound to happen as the worlds of Earth and Eden collide.

I enjoyed the beginning and middle parts of this story well enough. The story concept was intriguing and I liked Kerana. Eli was a little bit harder to like, but as his story progressed, he grew dear as well. The end-ish of Homecoming was especially interesting and made me come to really like the story. I’m quite excited for the sequel now!! 🙂

The allegory/spiritual parts of this novel were incredible. Though I’m not sure how I felt about every little detail; overall, it was amazing. The Trinity. Meeting Adonai. Glimpsing His home. Feeling His love for Kerana and Eli. Seeing their child to Father relationships with Him. Some of it was simply mind-blowing. For the most part, I loved this allegory of God and His boundless love, and my soul has been truly touched.

Also, the theme of surrendering one’s destiny, relinquishing control of one’s life to your Creator… Simply powerful. I love a novel that teaches something, stirs your soul, reminds you, helps you in your walk with God. And Homecoming did that.

Oh…Kate Hasbrouck has a lovely imagination! 🙂 I really enjoyed some of the parts and things of Eden. Would love to elaborate, but I suppose you should read them for yourself! 🙂


I absolutely love love loved Homecoming!  The author has created a reality in fiction that is both intriguing and mesmerizing. I love supernatural inspirational fiction and this story is top notch! I love that the characters were opposites in a lot of ways and the story touches on some sensitive issues…such as brokenness and one character’s unwillingness to accept God’s plan for his life. I loved seeing the world through Kerana’s eyes and the chemistry with Eli. This story pulled me in on page one and did not let go. I’m thrilled that this is the beginning of what will be a series, because I need more….now!

WHERE TO BUY IT: “Homecoming” is available on amazon.com ( http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1940192218/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1424882652&sr=8-1&keywords=kate+hasbrouck&dpPl=1&dpID=51fD0hoakFL&ref=plSrch),
through Books-a-Million ( http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Homecoming/Kate-Hasbrouck/9781940192215?id=6248784645457)
and through Barnes and Noble ( http://m.barnesandnoble.com/w/homecoming-kate-hasbrouck/1117220008?ean=9781940192215

SAMPLE CHAPTER: On Amazon.

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

