Weather Report, August 3

Mount Everest

OUR CURRENTLY FEATURED BOOKS ARE “THE LAST BEST THING,” BY KATE SEBENY AND “HANNAH, DELIVERED,” BY ELIZABETH JARRETT ANDREW. YOU CAN FIND THEM BY SCROLLING DOWN JUST BELOW THIS POST.

UPCOMING ON “SNOWFLAKES IN A BLIZZARD …

AUGUST 4: FIRST TUESDAY REPLAY. 

This is the debut of a new feature that will run monthly. Since we continue to add followers, it seemed like a good idea to periodically pass along some of the earlier featured books that relative newcomers may have missed. Also, it gives the authors another opportunity to get work out there. This week, we’ll offer condensed versions of the posts for “Island Dogs,” “Waiting for Westmoreland,” “Death of a Cabman,” “The River Caught Sunlight” and “What to do About Mama?”

AUGUST 7: “SHOWING UP,” BY ERIC WEST, AND “IT HAPPENED IN A LUTHERAN CHURCH,” BY REBECCA MOATZ.

1. I will admit that I was leery of Eric West’s book at first. Not that I have anything against motivational self-help books — I could probably learn a few things from many of them — but they just don’t seem a good fit for our program. But then I read “Showing Up,” and my mind changed completely.

Writes Eric: “Seeing Mt. Everest was my dream. It wasn’t on my bucket list; it was my dream. In 2011, I arrived in Nepal armed with nothing more than a mindset I called ‘Showing Up.’ And Showing Up seemed to change my luck; the more I was present, the luckier I became. I would see Mt. Everest (and eventually go on to climb it), meet true love, and change mys destiny forever, all within moments of each other. How could this possibly happen? Embedded in that question lies the simplicity and potency of Showing Up.”

Eric West’s adventures began as a college exchange student in London, England. He went on to become a school teacher in Tokyo, Japan. Later as a captain in the billion dollar mega-yacht industry, he visited exotic destinations via luxury yachts most landlubbers only saw on the cover of glossy travel magazines. But his dream was to one day visit Mt. Everest. Armed with no climbing experience, he showed up in Nepal. Within days he met a Dutch climbing guide he would later marry. Their high-altitude romance set in motion plans to climb the flanks of Everest together the following year.

Again, Eric: “The book was written to serve as the centerpiece for speaking events: Keynotes, corporate events, motivation speeches. Penning the book was a chance to share the Showing Up message with a global audience; Your dreams are important. Your dreams deserve your time. Nothing takes the place of your presence. And Showing Up works.”

I’ve never really considered climbing Mount Everest, but Eric’s book made me feel I could do that if I really wanted to. If nothing else, his inside look at high altitude climbing made me feel as though I was already there.

2. Churches are often called “sanctuaries,” but the experience of or R.L. (Rebecca) Moatz and her son was just the opposite. In “It Happened in a Lutheran Church,” she writes with heartfelt candor about how rumors about her son not only affected both their lives, but carved an ugly split in the congregation that had once nurtured them. This is a personal story, but also a cautionary tale about how churches are not immune to rumor, gossip and conflict.

R. L. Moatz grew up in rural Pennsylvania. A series of challenges have led her to reinvent herself many times to meet the needs of her family. She has worked in medical, technical and creative fields and brings the sum of her experiences to her writing. With a unique balance of empathy and understanding to offer the reader, she now heals others with her words and brings a fresh perspective to some of the more difficult life situations.

NEWS & NOTES:

1. From Katie Andraski, author of “The River Caught Sunlight”:

“My book was featured on Ereader News Today’s Book of the Day last week and I’ve never, ever seen my stats on Amazon so good. In Kindle ebooks category of Religion and Spirituality I’m at 330 for Author Rank. And 911 for books for Religion and Spirituality (Author Rank). (These may not seem fabulous to you, but to me, a year after the book has been out, with minimal publicity, it’s huge.) It only cost 60$ to do this promotion and they presented my book very nicely.

2. For those of you who might be considering a trailer video, here’s a particularly effective one (I thought) by Kate Sebeny, one of our Snowflakes in a Blizzard writers :

Book trailer
Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

