2. Two Ways To Sunday

Two Ways to Sunday

THE BOOK: Two Ways To Sunday

PUBLISHED IN: 2012

THE AUTHOR: Tom Starita. http://www.Goppygots.com, @tomstarita on twitter, https://www.facebook.com/pages/Two-Ways-To-Sunday/385203111557137

THE PUBLISHER: Infinity Publishing

THE EDITOR: Self-published

SUMMARY: Chris Marcum was a man who had everything. The perfect wife, the perfect job, and the perfect life. He was also sure his belief in God did not depend on those successes. So when an angel appeared to him on his deathbed with a challenge to prove the depths of his faith, Chris immediately accepted. Relive your life, with no recollection. This time however, without the breaks. What happens when instead of going right, you go left? What if there are no happy endings? How much can a man endure before he hits his breaking point? And what happens then?

THE BACK STORY: I was in the shower, lamenting the choices I had made over the previous two years (it’s always about a girl). I was angry at God, angry at myself, angry at everything and I wished that He had somehow stopped me from going down the path I chose. Then I thought that would be a great idea for a book! A couple of seconds later I was running out of the shower and instead of a Friday night at the bar I wrote five pages. The next day I decided I had to keep going to see what would happen.

WHY THIS TITLE: One of my best friends, Mike Saccenti came up with it during a brainstorming session and as soon as he said it I knew I found my title.

Tom Starita

WHY YOU WOULD WANT TO READ IT: If you’re looking for a religious/inspiration Mitch Albom/Nicholas Sparks book, you found it. At the same time I know several atheists who enjoyed the book because they could relate to the trials and tribulations that the main character goes through.

It’s a realistic look at life – drama, romance, comedy and tears – the whole gamut.

The book is set in Staten Island, NY – so obviously if you live in the great borough you should definitely pick it up just to pick up all the references.

REVIEW COMMENTS:

Casey: 5 stars: What a story line! It’s about love, loss, a push to be at peace with yourself and the belief that there is a better place for us when we are gone. I laughed, I cried, I laughed again and cried again. It is a very thought provoking book that makes you wonder if the choice was yours how would you respond. I am looking forward to the next book, this new author writes. This would be a great book discussion book!

Shannon: 5 stars: You do not need to be a devout Catholic, or even Christian, to love this book. As a person not really aligned with any secular faith, I had apprehensions that this book might come off as preachy, but was proven wrong. It’s an inspiring book that leaves you feeling empowered to take control of your life. It also makes the reader think more about turning the pessimistic approach to life such as “why did this happen to me” into “what could have happened to me?’. It begs for self reflection and acceptance. It also speaks to faith, whether it be religious and spiritual, and its pertinence for guidance. But it reminds us that faith should not be depended on to fix our lives. This book serves as an enlightening reminder that you are responsible for your own life. As an avid reader, I can say the author’s debut is impressive. The structure and character development of the book is something you see with more established authors. The characters are well-fleshed and responsive. The protagonist, Chris Marcum, is an accessible and rounded character. The writing is smooth and crisp, allowing for the characters’ actions to dictate the story rather than an overuse of descriptors, which is a common pitfall for many writers. It’s obvious the author is seasoned in writing and is an ardent reader himself. The often-resonating question of “what if” is a main theme in this book, with the lead taking a choose-your-own-adventure approach with his life, given a second chance. This is the perfect book for a book club with the postulating plot giving way to a surprise ending and inciting thought-provoking questions. If you’re looking for a book that gives some inspiration with a kick of motivation, mixed with emotion and laughs, I would highly recommend Two Ways to Sunday. It’s rare that I am physically moved by books, but I can say that this had me in tears. It was more than I had anticipated and I was pleasantly surprised. This is certainly a book I will come back to.

Asics33: 5 stars: When I first sat down to read this, I could not put it down….. Two Ways to Sunday EASILY beats out any Nicholas Sparks (or anyone related to that genre) novel. This book had me laughing in one chapter and crying the next. Such an amazing story about the different twists and turns, as well as what could happen if you think about the “what ifs”. This was also very well written-very organized and you would not be confused if you set it down for a few days. Very emotional and powerful story that reaffirms my faith in a plan for each of us. I finished it in 2 days and was very pleased with the ending. One of the best books I have read in awhile. I strongly recommend this to all….It would be foolish NOT to add this to your library….

AUTHOR PROFILE: Tom Starita has two passions in life, writing and the New York Mets. Both have taken years off his life. He spent seven years teaching high school religion and is now realizing his goal as a published writer. His dream is to spend the rest of his life lounging in a pool with a book. Tom loves to laugh, loves to make people laugh and most importantly, hopes you enjoyed his first book. He is divorced and currently resides in Staten Island, NY.

AUTHOR COMMENTS: My only goal was to not write a cliché filled book. I wanted everything to be believable and every decision to make sense—even if you’re screaming at him to do the opposite.

SAMPLE CHAPTER: On Amazon.

LOCAL OUTLETS: Staten Island Advance, NY Daily News, NY Post

WHERE ELSE TO BUY IT: Amazon.com, barnesandnoble.com

PRICE: $20.95 – print, $6.95 – ebook

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: Tom.Starita@gmail.com

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

