3. Fairy and Blood: Lilac

Fairy and BloodTHE BOOK: Fairy and Blood: Lilac

PUBLISHED: 2013

AUTHOR: William Crisel

PUBLISHED BY: Self published through Amazon’s create space.

SUMMARY: This is a dark fantasy tale of a lone fairy who goes on a journey to bring balance to her world. She faces gods, beasts and the harsh environment of her world in order to do so. She puts herself directly in the path of danger in order to succeed.

BACWilliam CristelK STORY: The book idea came about during a conversation of myths and fantasy. How fairies were magical happy creatures that assisted others via magic or wisdom. I pondered if there where any stories that put this creature in a more heroic role – one wasn’t childish – and more something darker. I could not find such a tale so I decided to write it myself.

WHY WOULD SOMEONE READ THIS BOOK: It takes a creature who by its mythos lives in sort of a dark world and it puts them in a story that keeps it dark-natured. The tale itself is unique. It takes the fairy known for its magical prowess and strips it away, forcing her to be more daring and bold in her actions. It’s full of action and close calls. It’s overall a great tale.

AUTHOR PROFILE: I suppose you could say I’m a dreamer. I try seeing the world differently then the norm. I’ve always had an imagination and creative streak. I’m your typical fantasy, si-fi loving guy who likes things simple, yet on occasions complicated.

REVIEWS:

By bookreader on January 26, 2014:

“This story took me to a spectacular journey to the land of fairy tales. William J Crisel has his way of describing the events within the story which is entertaining and interesting. One reads within this story the dark and bloody side of fantasy. Another positive aspect of Fairy and Blood:Lilac is a nice layout and font. I recommend this book to fairy tale lovers. I am glad i bought it.”

 

By jen mitchell on September 25, 2015.

“I may be late to the game on posting my review but I must say this book is remarkable. If you’re into dark fairy tales, this is the book for you. I remember staying up with William at all hours of the night to listen to tidbits of chapters before it was fully released and i couldn’t wait for him to finalize it. To see what it became when it was released is amazing. I’m so proud of him it’s unreal. So yes, give this book a chance. It’s definitely worth it.”

 

By Roses are Amber on May 31, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Fairy and blood is a dark tale of pain and struggle. We meet the fairy Lilac resting in the woods. She’s a hunter and fighter and wants to put the world back in balance. A quest follows, but first we see first hand how ruthless Lilac is when she takes on a badger to the death. She seeks out the sprites who have taken on the powers of the four seasons, but have grown corrupt with their powers. Spring has become a growth of wickedness. Summer is filled with rage and fire, whilst autumn lives in a black void. The sprite who is winter is just sad and lonely wanting an escape from the cruel world.

As the tale unfolds we learn how Lilac removes the powers from the sprites as well as the story of a star who gifted these powers to greedy fairies long ago. In a final battle with a powerful foe Lilac returns the balance of power to earth.

The story is very well written, there are lots of passages full of eloquent words, Lilac’s quest is a lonely one with very few opportunities for dialogue with other characters. At times I struggled to pick up the flow of the storyline as I stopped to check out words from my dictionary.”

SAMPLE CHAPTER. On Amazon.

AUTHOR COMMENT: “All I would like in regards to my book would be for it to find its way into someone’s hands. I would hope that they enjoyed it and that maybe it could hold a place in their heart and mind. That maybe it could spark someone else’s creative juices.”

WHERE TO BUY IT: Places to purchase: It can be found on Amazon both in paperback and ebook. You could also request it at any book store be it books a million or barns and noble and they should be able to order it for you.

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: If anyone needs to get a hold of me, they can contact me via monk410@comcast.net or find me on Twitter via William Crisel.

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

