Mommy Writings: Mommy, Would You Like a Sandwich?

Mommy, Would You Lie ...THE AUTHOR: Suzanne McMillen-Fallon.

THE EDITOR: Kathi Anderson.

THE PUBLISHER: Strategic Book Publishing and Rights Agency (SBPRA). SBPRA is a “help-publishing” company that offers book publishing and marketing services for all genres.

SUMMARY: “There’s one thing I know – God exists.” At age nineteen, MaryAnne McMillen severed two vital nerves at the base of her skull when she suffered a near fatal fall. This was followed by an out-of-body experience, life after death, in which she heard the words, “It’s not your time.”

Suzanne McMillen-Fallon IIWhen the two nerves fused together, MaryAnne was left in unrelenting, excruciating pain. Being the mother of a young son and married to a philandering brute of a husband when the accident occurred, the family disallowed the use of any medicine because it was against their religion. After fourteen years of agony, doctors were finally able to perform a unique surgery known as intraspinal rhizotomy. This story weaves together the idea of family and faith, while also creating a sense of longing in the reader’s own life for something bigger than themselves. Mommy’s Writings is the extraordinary memoir of the love between a mother and her young son, and a great-grandmother whose intense devotion to the two of them kept their little family together. It is a story of faith in God, of forgiveness and acceptance, and of gratitude.

THE BACK STORY: As it’s written in Mommy’s Writings’ Conclusion: “With this novel, I’ve fulfilled what I perceive as a heavenly Father’s purposed plan for my life. It gives my soul rest (Ps. 139:13-14).”

While the story reveals an existing intrigue underwent by the McMillen family, some of the characters’ names have been changed, so as not to inflict harm upon people still living.

“Because God is, this story belongs to everyone. (St. Matthew 22:21 [AV]; Mark 12:17; Luke 20:25). For, as awareness is, so is God consciousness.”

This is a lingering tale of a mother’s head injury and her vulnerable four-year old son’s love for each other. Together they are tethered by an intense unyielding great-grandmother’s love for the two of them that further binds them to their home in Warren, Ohio. As written in Mommy’s Writings’ Preface, “What began as a private writing for my son Chad is now a tie that binds a family’s times and inspires the love of God.”

WHY THIS TITLE? While his mommy lies in bed, and as it’s written in the book, “The afternoon’s sun warmth is felt through the bay window, as its soft radiance brings a pillow to rest over my head. It will ease my eyes from the remaining daylight that somehow adds to the spasm’s cruelty, which is ever more callous today. I accept my thoughts, for God carries me now.

Surely, another pill will do some good.

“Mommy, can I play with my cars?”

“Yes, darling son. I’d love it if you would.”

I won’t sleep, but I’ll probably lose consciousness, as thoughts of a heavenly Father’s loving compassion then cradles us.

Lord, God Almighty, I’m so fragile – as if I’m barely alive – but I’m not afraid. Please don’t let your little child Chad be afraid for his mommy.

My thoughts are on Chad, what little I can think; and as tears well-up and make their presence known, soft facial tissue holds the tears escaping into an emotion of God’s presence, which embraces and helps my precious little boy accept that mommy’s okay. I hear Chad’s sweet, loving voice as he retrieves his toy Matchbox cars from the parking bay he used earlier in his play atop and across the bedcovers, to drive over superhighways and onto their destinations. It is this which somehow has me feel a child’s innocence and compassion.

“Chad, I love you bunches.”

“I know, Mommy! I love you bunches too!”

This is my child. Unexpectedly, my son parks his little Matchbox cars in the parking bay and then stands thoughtfully. Chad looks deep into my eyes as he walks the length of the bed to place his one hand into mine, having his other arm on the edge of the bed that leans in toward me, and all the while our eyes keep within each other’s world.

“Mommy, would you like a sandwich?”

My child, with his little man ways, then places another tissue to catch my tears.

“A sandwich, Mommy?”

Chad’s a child who isn’t even five years old. How does this relate to hope or faith?

“Thank you, Chad. Perhaps a little later.”

“Mommy, don’t you know? I’m here to help you feel better.”

Life isn’t fair—God is. But when a child must furnish compassion to his mother, life is upside down. My thoughts remain quietly within.

Dear God . . . Why?

WHY WOULD SOMEONE WANT TO READ IT? The book will change your perspective on life: with enlightenment, as in the words of Sartre’s reality, “I think, therefore I am. No matter, the mindset. ”Does God exist?” “What’s life all about?”

This true story novel does not proselytize. I’m not a religious person. I believe in God. The story is based on my life, what was experienced on February 14, 1969, in an out-of-body experience, life after death, in which I heard the words, “It’s not your time.”

In Mommy’s Writings, it begins with my simple words to a friend, “I’ll help with your gifts, but first let me open the garage doors, Cynthia.”

“MaryAnne, lift up on the center latch to open them.”

I step out of the car and onto the pavement to stand before my friend, whose car’s headlights are bright in the nippy night air against a sky’s brilliant star backdrop, which are now a part of me. I can’t see her through the headlight’s intensity, but knowing Cynthia, she’s smiling. I glance upward, where the stars almost feel like you can touch them in such night clarity, which reminds me of life’s treasures: our friends that are given to us by a higher consciousness whose intention gives such blessings to his creations. I think, Treasure life.

I turn and open the double-door garage, and then, in a single step backward into a cement pit, my life changes forever.

REVIEW COMMENTS:

“This book has touched my heart to see what a mother will go through just to make sure her child was safe and raised to the best of her ability. The trials and errors we go through in life can sometimes Feel like we are alone, but always remember God is with you, as Suzanne has taught me.” – Jeffrey Miller.

AUTHOR PROFILE: In Washington State, my second husband, Gene D. Fallon, retired. With our focus then on writing, I worked part time for Hallmark Retail, Inc. (Andrews’s Hallmark, and then Amy’s Hallmark), and attended to Fallon’s failing health. He was diagnosed with Acute Myeloid Leukemia, at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center; with our commuting for his care at the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance building, shortly after moving to Mukilteo, Washington in 1996. It’s in Fallon’s latter days, when his strength was little and he slept mostly, that the novel “Mommy’s Writings: Mommy, would you like a sandwich?” flowed through me. It was inspired. As I could see his resting form, a body slowly weakening from a fatal disease, but never removing away from him his loving nature. The injections I gave him finally were of no earthly use, and Gene David Fallon died on 12-1-2003; but not before his reading of my creative work, Mommy Writings Series Book 1.

It’s in my marriage to Fallon, during those years, when the dear Lord had me learning the writing process. “Would I have accomplished this work without my patient husband’s support for his Suz? Let’s just say, with his love and respect that his Suz finds strength in two hearts now released as one.”

Yes, I knew I’d someday write this story. In spite of the head injury, and the permanent brain impairment, I live with. Yet, it’s like author Darrell Laurant shared with me in his October 15, 2015 e-mail, “…there are also the wild cards of prayer and personal determination.” And it’s true, this I know.

When defining who she is, Suzanne McMillen-Fallon writes, “Mother of Chad C. McMillen and author.” In her younger years, she was an artist. After the 1983 surgery, she is a published writer of poetry and prose, and co-authored the book Shadows of Yesterday with her late second husband, Gene Fallon. Her next book, Parallax Crossroads: Finding My Way (Copyright January 25, 2012) continues the Mommy Writings Series.

Suzanne McMillen-Fallon was previous business owner and CEO of the Center for Communication Arts, Inc. in Orlando; having been associate director of Television Workshop, Inc. with Gene Fallon in Cleveland, Ohio. Past business experience includes apartment house ownership and management and a family-owned business affiliation in the oil and gas industry.

Ms. McMillen-Fallon has a background in the performing arts in theatrical production at the famed Youngstown, Ohio Playhouse; developing an amazing role-playing ability than used as a teaching technique in Florida, where becoming the instructor’s protégé, she acted out parts audiences easily related to.

SAMPLE CHAPTER: See Amazon.

LOCAL OUTLETS: E.G. Toledo-Lucas County Library: http://www.toledolibrary.org; Sno-isle Regional Library System, WA State: http://www.sno-isle.org; NOLA Regional Library System: http://www.neotoday.org;

WHERE ELSE TO BUY IT: Mommy Writings Series Book 1, Mommy’s Writings: Mommy, Would You Like a Sandwich? – A True Story (ISBN: 978-1-60976-456-2) By Suzanne McMillen-Fallon is available for $24.50 and can be ordered through the publisher’s website: http://sbpra.com/SuzanneMcMillenFallon or at http://www.amazon.com or http://www.barnesandnoble.com.

Wholesalers: This book is distributed by Ingram Books and other wholesale distributors. Contact your representative with the ISBN for purchase. Wholesale purchase for retailers, universities, libraries, and other organizations is also available through the publisher; please email bookorder@sbpra.net.

PRICE: $24.50.

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: a.smf@att.net; Google: suzcc88@gmail.com; Twitter handle: Suzanneasmf; Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/suzanne.mcmillenfallon

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

