Making History

 OUR OTHER CURRENTLY FEATURED BOOKS, “FOR LOVE OF CHARITY,” BY WANDA PARKER AND “THEM THAT GO,” BY BECKY MUSHKO, CAN BE FOUND BY SCROLLING DOWN BELOW THIS POST.

 

TITLE: Making History (Subtitle: how to remember, record, interpret, and share the events of your life).

PUBLISHED IN: 2007 (Second Edition)

THE AUTHOR: Kim Pearson. Website: http://www.kimpearson.me

THE EDITOR: Nancy Cleary

THE PUBLISHER: Primary Sources Books, an imprint of Wyatt-MacKenzie

SUMMARY: Making History is a comprehensive, easy to use, fun method of exploring the times of your (or someone else’s) life against a backdrop of historic events. It illuminates personal power, providing an antidote to the apathetic assumption that one person cannot make a difference. It contains detailed historic timelines from 1930 through 1989; vibrant true stories full of humor, tragedy, and excitement; thought-provoking questions to help the reader discover how they contributed to and participated in the events of their time; and easily accessible information arranged in eight categories, which are: Economics and Politics, The Social Fabric (race, gender, and morality), War and the International Scene, Technology and Science, Crime and Disaster, Arts and Entertainment, Lifestyle Activities (food, fashion, toys, sports, etc.) and The Weird and Trivial (scandals and gossip, comics, slang, pets, etc.)

THE BACK STORY: In 2000 I had opted out of corporate life and was trying to make it as a freelance writer. I ghostwrote books and memoirs for others, and also taught memoir writing at senior citizen centers, encouraging folks to write their stories down. I wanted more people to know who and where I was, so I proposed teaching my memoir writing class to a big community college in my area, for their continuing education program.

They weren’t interested. They already had a memoir writing teacher. But they saw I had degrees in history, so they asked me if I could teach history instead. My first reaction was to think, “I don’t want to teach history” because my degrees were over 20 years old and were in Elizabethan history (16th century England) besides. But I wanted to teach for them, so the words that came out of my mouth were, “Okay, I’ll teach a history class.”

I guess I cheated, because I sure didn’t teach about Elizabethan England. Instead, I focused on recent history – from 1930 onward, and taught how to see one’s individual life as history. I even worked some writing tips into the class. The class has been a great success; I’m still teaching it today at continuing education programs, historical societies, genealogical societies, and other venues. The system I developed, along with many of the stories I heard in

class, are what Making History is about. The class I didn’t want to teach turned out to be a huge gift, and a book I am proud of.

WHY THIS TITLE?:  History is not just about the famous or infamous. It’s not just about the “great” things that make the news. We are all actors in the powerful drama of earth, part of the vast dynamic web circling the universe. Our actions reverberate along this web, creating consequences for all other living creatures. We do not merely react to events and historical trends – we create them. Each individual is a part of history. In fact, we make history. This book shows how this is true.

WHY SOMEONE WOULD WANT TO READ IT: Making History appeals to genealogists, family historians, memoirists, biographers, writers of recent historical fiction, ghostwriters, and anyone who wants to remember what they (or their family members) were doing in the 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s, 70s, or 80s. It helps readers discover their place in history, remember stories they might have forgotten, and create powerful vignettes which anchor them in “big” history.

REVIEW COMMENTS:  Some reviews are on my website: http://kimpearson.me/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/MHRvws_bookprodpg.pdf

AUTHOR PROFILE: Kim Pearson is an author, ghostwriter, and the owner of Primary Sources, a writing service that helps others become authors of polished, professional, and compelling books. She is the author of non-fiction Making History: how to remember, record, interpret and share the events of your life and Dog Park Diary (ghostwritten for a dog!); fiction Eating Mythos Soup, Childish Discoveries, Adult Distractions, and Creature Discomforts; and poetry, the 7-book series The Haiku Book of Days. Her Author page on Amazon is: https://www.amazon.com/author/kimpearson. She has ghostwritten (for people) more than 45 non-fiction books and memoirs, which tell the stories of a wide variety of people and cover a broad range of topics, from saxophones to finance, city histories to hypnotherapy, psychic horses to constipation, and many points in between. Her online program “Learn to Ghost” teaches others the fine art of ghostwriting: http://www.LearnToGhost.com. Her blog From the Compost shares her musings about the writing and ghosting life: http://www.FromTheCompost.com. To learn more about her books or services, visit http://www.kimpearson.me.

AUTHOR COMMENTS: “Next year,  Making History will be ten years old. In celebration, I am currently writing an addition to the original six decades – the 1990s. My plan is to offer it as three separate ebooks as well as a print book covering all seven decades. The ebooks will cover two decades each – the 40s & 50s, the 60s & 70s, and the 80s & 90s. I am currently gathering stories from the 1990s while teaching “Making History in the 90s” at various venues. I am probably going to offer this 1990s class as a teleclass/webinar as well, so if anyone reading this is interested, please let me know. I know there are great stories out there!”

SAMPLE CHAPTER: The PDF is available for download on my website: http://kimpearson.me/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/making_history.pdf

WHERE TO BUY IT: Making History is available through online book sellers. And any chain or indie bookstore can order it. ISBN: 978-1-932279-75-7.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Making-History-remember-record-interpret/dp/193227975X?ie=UTF8&keywords=Making%20History%20Pearson&qid=1460481240&ref_=sr_1_2&sr=8-2

or http://tinyurl.com/6nuxzy

PRICE:

$24.95 (discounts sometimes available on Amazon)

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: kim@kimpearson.me

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

