Weather Report, May 16



One of the goals of Snowflakes in a Blizzard is to establish long-term relationships with  writers.

After all, unlike J.D. Salinger or Harper Lee, most authors don’t reach literary immortality with their first book — so they keep trying. Or maybe they just love the craft of writing, or have a need to exorcise some of those story ideas rattling around in their head.

We featured 144 writers over the previous year, and most of them have other books to offer. This week, Snowflakes will feature three — “Fallen,” by Melinda Inman, “Swinging on rhe Garden Gate,” by Elizabeth Jarrett Andrew, and “A Red, Red Rose,” by Susan Coryell.


Almost all authors believe in their books, but Melinda went to extremes in getting “Fallen” published with Koehler Books, a hybrid company. In order to come up with her share of the cost, she posted the book as a potential project on Kickstarter, and it went down to the wire — she finally topped her goal on the final day.

Like Susan Coryell’s “A Red, Red Rose,” this book is actually a prequel to another featured on Snowflakes — Melinda’s “Refuge.” Her specialty is taking some of the earlier Biblical stories and using her fertile imagination to put human faces on the main players  — in this case, Cain and Abel.

Fallen describes how the first humans tumbled from grace when “Lucifer’s deceptive brilliance tricks them into disobeying God. They eat the one forbidden fruit. Their innocence is shattered. Their unity with one another and with God is destroyed. Death will follow. Lucifer’s jealousy threatens mankind’s tenuous beginning. But God is merciful. What astonishing promise does He make? How will Adam and Eve survive – broken, shattered, and separated from God? Is there any hope?”


Elizabeth shows her versatility here, following a novel, Hannah Delivers, with a memoir.

In Swinging on the Garden Gate, she skillfully and seamlessly weaves the threads of spirituality, sexuality and the creative process out of the compelling events of her life. The spark of spirit she finds embedded in her body she also discovers throughout the solid matter of life — in childhood, in nature, in encounters with death and loss and wild growth. Her exploration of the sacred is vivid, fresh, and grounded in the details of ordinary days.


This is the first in Susan’s Southern Gothic Overhome trilogy. Beneath the Stones, previously featured on Snowflakes, was the second.

When 20-year-old Ashby Overton travels to Overhome Estate in Southern Virginia for the summer, she hopes to unearth her ancestral roots and the cause of a mysterious family rift surrounding the horseback riding death of her Grandmother Lenore many years ago.

From the moment she enters her room in the oldest wing, Ashby feels an invisible, enfolding presence. She learns the room belonged to a woman named Rosabelle, but no one is willing to talk about Rosabelle—no one except Luke, the stable boy who captures her heart. As Ashby and Luke become closer, she realizes he can be the confidant she needs to share the terrifying, unfolding secrets.

Ever present is a force Ashby never sees, only feels. Candles light themselves, notes from an old lullaby fall from the ceiling, the radio tunes itself each day. And roses, always meant for Ashby, appear in the unlikeliest places. Are the roses a symbol of love, or do they represent something dark, something deep and evil?




Published by


Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s