Crossing the Blue Line

THE BOOK: Crossing the Blue Line

PUBLISHED IN: 2016


THE AUTHOR:
  William Mark

THE PUBLISHER: Southern Yellow Pine Publishing.  SYP Publishing promotes Southern Authors of fiction and non-fiction throughout the Southeast. We often work with new and aspiring authors, and we strive to publish unique works set in specific locals that reflect the culture of that area. We want to see unique characters brought to life and to help writers document the unusual, the lost art, the forgotten skill or the individuality of a special place of regional significance.

SUMMARY: Chaos reigns in the streets of Tallahassee, and the community doesn’t trust the police. The reason: police officers Beau Rivers and Dylan Akers are suspected in the recent murders of two child killers although it cannot be proved. Leading the turmoil is a dangerous kingpin building a drug empire with violence and fear. The Chief of Police must act, but traditional police work isn’t getting results. Additional evidence proving Rivers and Akers committed the revenge murders is discovered, and the chief delivers a tough ultimatum. The two must wage a hidden war against the kingpin or face murder charges. Working together again, Beau and Dylan are joined by two others, one a tenacious cop and the other with questionable morals, to form a secret squad known only by the chief. As they square up against the drug lord, it quickly becomes a race against time. Major Pritchard, the unscrupulous IA commander who investigated Beau and Dylan, continues his personal crusade against the pair. Will Beau and Dylan take down the syndicate before Pritchard finds the uncovered evidence held by the Chief? Will they finally face the consequences for taking the law into their own hands? To make things right, they will have to cross the blue line, and it could cost one of them his life.

William MarkTHE BACK STORY
: “My readers demanded a sequel.  I originally saw my first novel, From Behind the Blue Line, as a stand-alone story, but too many of my readers wanted to know what happened afterward.  I had an idea for another book with no characters and now characters in need of a story.  So, I meshed them together for a great follow-up sequel that will continue to deliver page turning thrills.”

WHY THIS TITLE?: In the first novel, the main characters, who are cops, had to step around the law to do what they felt was right.  In this novel, the consequences of those actions leads them down a path that forces them to finally cross the line.

WHY WOULD SOMEONE WANT TO READ IT? 
My experience with law enforcement brings a certain realism and grit to my stories.  I think readers relish in the reality, getting a feel for how tough being a police officer can be.

REVIEW COMMENTS
:

“This is not a new author to me. I have previously read FROM BEHIND THE BLUE LINE and LOST IN THE DARKNESS. I gave them both high marks .. they were extremely well written crime thrillers. I expected no less with CROSSING THE BLUE LINE, and I was not disappointed.  – Linda Strong

AUTHOR PROFIL
E: Born and raised in Tallahassee, the main locale I choose to write about. I do love to travel and hope to see as much of the world as I can. I enjoy a good beer, a good book and a good movie. I’m a cop, SWAT guy, former homicide dick, softball teammate, brother, son, husband to very beautiful and patient woman, but the hat I enjoy wearing the most, is father. Savannah (8), Connor (5) and Clayton (2) are my pride and joy.
I’ve seen the ugliest side of human nature and have struggled to crawl out of the abyss, but surrounding myself with good people has helped me see that good exists in this world. This realization is the fuel for my books.

AUTHOR COMMENTS:
 Perception of law enforcement is vastly misunderstood and frequently portrayed wrong in the media.  This breeds ignorance and causes frustration in people who are quick to grow angry rather than patiently understand a situation.  I believe I shed a little light on this problem in my newest novel.

SAMPLE CHAPTERhttp://www.amazon.com/Crossing-Blue-Line-William-Mark/dp/1940869722/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1464281810&sr=1-1&keywords=crossing+the+blue+line

LOCAL OUTLETS: My Favorite Books, 1415 Timberlane Rd, Tallahassee, Florida.

WHERE ELSE TO BUY IT: On-line at Amazon, Barnes & nobles and SYPPublishing.com.

PRICE: $19.95

CONTACT THE AUTHOR:

Twitter – @williammark649
Facebook – William Mark Author
Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

One thought on “Crossing the Blue Line”

Leave a Reply

