Doctor Kinney’s Housekeeper

PUBLISHED IN: April 2014

THE AUTHOR: Sara Dahmen

THE EDITOR: Annie Bahringer

THE PUBLISHER: Amazon / Self-Published…soon to be republished by new imprint, Coppersmith Publishing LLP.

SUMMARY: An Irish doctor. A pregnant widow.  A half-breed grocer.  And the last remaining Sioux in Flats Junction. Doctor Kinney’s Housekeeper is a pioneer fiction that explores themes of tolerance, acceptance and the life on the Dakota Territories in the 1880’s.

Sara DahmenFor newcomer Jane Weber, Flats Junction is both a new start and an enigma.  Who keeps vandalizing and terrorizing Widow Hawks, the only Native American who has not left for the reservation?  How will she be a single mother out on the prairie?  And if she falls in love, can she stay free in the Territories or will she need to go back to her old life in Massachusetts?

THE BACK STORY:  This novel was completely unplanned.  I know, sounds odd, right?  It was cathartic – I was sitting down to write so I didn’t need to pay for a shrink (I’d been struggling with fertility issues) and suddenly…there was this story!  It set itself in the late 1880s, in the Dakotas…everything literally unraveled as I wrote.  Even the characters showed up on their own.  It was a really delightful way to write.

But I’ve always been a writer – either for work or as a magazine editor, or writing stories for my own pleasure.  This one just finally made it to the light of day!

WHY THIS TITLE: It’s a very literal explanation of what the book is about.  It’s the life of Doctor Kinney’s Housekeeper.  I’m never one for dramatic or illusive lofty titles.  It is what it says it is!

WHY SOMEONE WOULD WANT TO READ IT: The book is a fast read, and a well-researched one.  If someone wanted to know what the kitchens were like, or the Native American reservations, or the interwoven lives of settlers and Blackfoot Sioux, it’s interwoven lightly throughout the book.  Entertainment mixed with a little knowledge and history is key to the novel, as well as overarching themes of tolerance and acceptance, which is very much a topic of today’s society as well.

REVIEW COMMENTS:

“When I find a book that captures me entirely, immerses me in the lives of characters I care about (and miss when the book is over) and transports me to another time and place, I’m absolutely delighted. Ms. Dahmen did that with Dr. Kinney’ s Housekeeper. I don’t normally read period fiction, but something caught my eye with this book, and by the end of the first chapter I was taken. The story flowed so easily and the characters were so well developed, I almost felt like I was watching it instead of reading it.” – Cori Rice, owner of White Rice Advertising & PR

“This book is a must read. You will not be able to put it down once you begin to read it. It is a real page turner. I loved reading it very much. I gave it 5 stars but it deserves more. I highly recommend it to everyone.” – Amazon Reviews

AUTHOR PROFILE: With three children under the age of 6 and a husband who should probably get noticed from time to time, writing is an outlet I crave.  Before I could properly spell, I was writing books and short stories, and that passion has carried through my entire life.  I’m a metalsmith whot makes vintage tin and copperware using tools from before 1830, a business owner, and a cookware designer.  You can find me building a lantern from tin, painting an art commission, or sewing if I’m not reading the Economist.  Likely I’ll be drinking scotch if it’s after 9pm.

AUTHOR COMMENTS: “This book is meant to be an escape from today’s world and from reality.  I hope the reader gets immersed and involved in the characters (I do believe a direct quote from a reader was “if you don’t make this turn out alright, I’ll fanfiction your ass!” which was awesome to hear!) and will come back for more.  Doctor Kinney’s Housekeeper has become an integral part of life now, as it has spurred on a kitchenware line (Housekeeper Crockery) and a copper cookware line (House Copper).”

SAMPLE CHAPTER:

http://www.saradahmen.com/historical-fiction.html

LOCAL OUTLETS:

Book World in Mequon WI

Craft Books & Brews in Port Washington WI

Blue Heron Artisans Marketplace in Port Washington WI

Rustic Palate in Cedarburg WI

Mitzi’s Books in Rapid City SD

The Bookstore of Gloucester in Gloucester MA

Village Books of Fair Haven in Fair Haven/Bellingham WA

WHERE ELSE TO BUY IT: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords (IngramSpark by early 2017 or before)

PRICE:

$16.49 Paperback

$2.99 Nook

$2.99 Kindle

CONTACT THE AUTHOR:

http://www.saradahmen.com/home.html

sara@saradahmen.com

@saradahmenbooks (Twitter)

@sarathesmith (Instagram)

@goldenchicgirl (Pinterest)

http://www.housekeepercrockery.com or http://www.housecopper.com

@housecrockery (Instagram and Twitter)

Sara Dahmen

Author : Illustrator : Entrepreneur
@saradahmenbooks

www.saradahmen.com

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

One thought on “Doctor Kinney’s Housekeeper”

Leave a Reply

