Shrink Wrapped

David LiebertTHE BOOK: Shrink Wrapped: Stories from a Psychologist’s Unconscious

PUBLISHED IN: 2014

THE AUTHOR:  David Liebert

THE PUBLISHER: Moonshine Cove Publishing

SUMMARY: Shrink Wrapped is a collection of a dozen short stories with a common theme running through each, unifying them as a whole. These stories attempt to tug at the reader, raising questions, asking the reader to consider a perspective on human suffering outside trite, contemporary notions of sanity and insanity. Each story offers an existential opportunity to ponder over human tragedy. It’s my intent to make the stories personal, at least personal enough to where the reader might imagine to him or herself, “that could have be me, my parent or my child.” Too often we distance ourselves away from those with mental illness; my goal with Shrink Wrapped is to give the reader a front row seat to its daily experience.

THE BACK STORY
: These are fictional stories; yet, at some unconscious level these stories are the stories of my patients and of my students.

WHY THIS TITLE?: The title came to me quickly. Perhaps in the spirit of Ken Kesey, I wanted to put the straight jacket on the mental health profession, at least for the moment. What was actually a bit more challenging was the cover art. I wouldn’t accept any graphic depiction pointing fun of the mentally ill or trivializing their experience. The rainbow straight jacket was a perfect illustration for the cover!

WHY WOULD SOMEONE WANT TO READ IT?
Too often when I read fiction depicting topics of psychology, the author simply gets it wrong or there is no depth to the psychology, only glitter. Shrink Wrapped is certainly not psychological shallow.

REVIEW COMMENTS:

By Sara Brzezinski on December 8, 2014.Format: Paperback

“This book will leave the reader pondering the outcome of each case and the ethical implications of working with a variety of clients and psychological disorders.”

 

By G. G on December 5, 2014

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

“Very thought provoking……..each story has its own twist of irony.”

AUTHOR PROFILE: I am a psychology professor and part time psychotherapist. It pleases me that on RateMyProfessor.com the comment students mention after my passion for psychology is that I’m funny. It disturbs me just a bit that they never give me chilly-peppers anymore.

AUTHOR COMMENTS:
As an academic, I’m interested in the relationship between fiction and psychology. One of the classes I enjoy teaching the most is a course I co-teach with a colleague from the English department on the Psychology of Literature. This book is my attempt at establishing a healthy marriage between the two.

SAMPLE CHAPTER: https://www.amazon.com/Shrink-Wrapped-Stories-Psychologists-Unconscious/dp/1937327531/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1481306659&sr=8-2&keywords=david+liebert

LOCAL OUTLETS: Online or publisher’s website.

WHERE ELSE TO BUY IT: Amazon

PRICE: paperback- $12.95/ Kindle- $5.95

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: Liebert.David@spcollege.edu

David T. Liebert, Ed.D.

Professor & Department Chair

Social & Behavioral Science, Tarpon Springs Campus

Phone: (727) 712-5776

Fax: (727) 444-6078

Save

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

