Damaged Goods

Damaged Goods by [HOCKING, C. A.]THE BOOK: Damaged Goods.

PUBLISHED IN: English — Ebook format on Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, iBooks and Overdrive; Paperback on Createspace; Chinese translation into Mandarin in eBook format on Amazon.cn.

THE AUTHOR: C. A. Hocking.

THE PUBLISHER: C. A. Hocking.

SUMMARYDAMAGED GOODS is a powerful, hard-hitting story about three sisters who are subjected to a childhood of unrelenting abuse at the hands of their father. The girls create a strange, unnatural world for themselves in their desperate efforts to survive their violent, isolated prison, but it is human nature to seek escape, and each of them chooses a different path out of their own personal nightmare. The eldest, Sis, chooses biological escape in a world where being a girl is fraught with danger, and becomes a manwoman. The youngest, Sweetypie, loses her mind to flee her own reality, and becomes a childwoman. The middle sister, Helen, first takes the ultimate revenge to save her sisters and then puts the distance of geography between herself and her past, becoming a woman to be envied and admired by all. Fifty years after leaving, Helen returns to her childhood home to find Sis and Sweetypie much as she had left them. Or so it seems at first, until she discovers secrets within secrets and an act of vengeance that still haunts their lives. So begins a journey for each of them that will ultimately end in tragedy, closure and release.

C. A. HockingTHE BACK STORY: Although I was spared the horror of being abused myself, many around me were not, and over the years I have listened to their stories and observed the effect that such abuse has had on their lives. Most never truly got over it. After meeting a 90 year old woman and hearing the story of her and her five sisters on an isolated farm with her widowed father, and comforting her when she dissolved into tears even though seven decades of relatively happy life separated her from those events, I knew I had to write a book based on all the stories I had been told – and pull no punches. I’d read books about child abuse that took the soft approach and skirted around the actual act of abuse that traumatised so many children. I felt the victims of abuse were not given a voice in those books. I waded in and told it how it had been told to me. If the story is at times brutal, well that’s how it was for those children, and I wanted to give them a voice, to be heard. The book has had a powerful effect on some readers who are victims of child abuse. Some have put up reviews for the book, others have contacted me personally through my website rather than post a public review. I have been deeply touched by their responses. 

WHY THIS TITLE? DAMAGED GOODS is a book with a timeless and universal theme. It is not part of a fashion or fad in literature. It was first published in 2006 and was in the Amazon Top 10 in 2013. It continues to sell and have an impact.

WHY SOMEONE WOULD WANT TO READ IT?: Anyone who loves a gripping family saga with a dark dramatic edge will enjoy DAMAGED GOODS. Plenty of meat on the bones of this book!

REVIEW COMMENTS:    

5.0 out of 5 stars

One of the most profoundly moving books I have read!” 15 January 2013

By Donni Didit – Published on Amazon.com

“I am somewhat at a loss for words just how to write this review as ‘Damaged Goods’ is one of the most profoundly moving books I have read. The author artfully weaves in hooks — what is the secret Sissy holds? What has really brought Helen back? Why is Sweetypie still the twirling child in an aged, sagging body? The subject of child abuse (on all levels) IS dark, and Hocking captures emotions so well – and not just the darkness, there’s a poignant beauty in the words, a message of loyalty and courage and hope; that all is not lost beyond the pain and regret and passage of time. I really cannot do justice in words here – read it. A gripping, emotional journey that will touch your heart, bring some unexpected surprises (and horrors), evoke longing and sorrow and joy… I don’t think I’ll be forgetting this one and that I will surely re-read it down the track… brilliant, polished, masterful and terrible. In a good sense.”

.0 out of 5 stars

Intense.” 2 July 2016

By Patricia Hirayanagi – Published on Amazon.com

I just finished reading Damaged Goods by C. A Hocking. I have to say that this is the best book that I have read this year. The subject matter may not be for everyone but it was well written and done as tastefully as possible but still horrific, yet touching. The characters are extremely complex and there is no way to predict what will happen next in the store as each layer of their lives are peeled back like an onion to expose something as yet unseen. An incredible book.”

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Elegance Tames the Horror 4 March 2015

By Christy – Published on Amazon.com

“The horror of sexual abuse at the hands of those who are supposed to love and protect you is the beating heart of this story. Realistic and painful, the tale unfolds in the midst of the pure and unadulterated love of the sisters. Despite the torment they endure, they somehow manage to not sink into evil themselves. Alone, they would’ve never survived. Together, they could conquer anything.

“Instead of being swallowed by anguish, the author has the reader soar with hope and inspiration. An amazing story. Highly recommended read.”

“What a horrific, terrifying, yet beautiful story about survivors of the most heinous sin and crime known to man. I devoured this book in less than 12 hours, tense with revulsion, sick in the pit of my stomach, tears streaming down my face yet hopeful and overjoyed that such pure love between sisters could survive despite a hell such as theirs.

I loved the author’s ability to transport me to the lush rainforests of Australia with her rich palette of words, the surrounding beauty of the wild land made the story easier to bear, somehow. Amidst such horror and filth, the beauty of love and nature still endures.

This is my second story from C.A. Hocking, and I will be reading more from this wonderfully talented author.”

AUTHOR PROFILE: I am an Amazon Bestselling Australian Independent Author and have been writing since I was six years old. It’s what I do and how I define myself. My works range from powerful family sagas and dark dramatic fiction to light hearted romance, short stories and poetry, with an occasional foray into screenwriting. 

“I was born in South Australia in 1952 and have lived both rural and city lifestyles in many parts of Australia, which is reflected in the various settings of my work. I’ve had some good times, some bad times, made some wrong turns and some right turns, had some awful jobs in order to keep the money coming in whilst writing in my spare time, raised a family and become a grandmother. I am now living the blissful writer’s life (at last) with my husband and laptop in Canberra, the National Capital of Australia.

“I have three published novels at present, with more on the way. 

 A PLACE IN TIME (Amazon Top Ten 2013) is a dark paranormal drama and was shortlisted for a 2007 Australian literary award. Although the heart of the story is about the impact of domestic violence, there is a mystery with a time travel twist to keep the reader guessing.

DAMAGED GOODS (Amazon Top Ten 2013) is gritty, gothic dramatic fiction and has received some very emotive and powerful feedback from readers. Child abuse is not a subject to be received lightly, but my readers have vindicated my efforts with their responses. Some of the reviews I have received have been very personal and moving.

HOME TO ROOST (Amazon Top 100 2013) is another dramatic fiction novel about deceit, betrayal and redemption. One reader described the story as a wild emotional ride. I like that!

I am working on several different projects at present. Which project I choose to work on each day usually depends on which one is in my head when I wake up in the morning. That’s the creative process. I have never been able to approach my work as “work” and do the 3000 words a day thing that some writers advocate. I would find that tedious. 

My next completed novel will be SARAH ANN ELLIOTT: a Victorian Family Saga based on a true story. Works-in-progress are OLD FARTS ON A BUS, a humorous look at, well, Old Farts on a bus touring through the middle east (based somewhat on personal experience); THE AUNT EDNA SERIES, a children’s series of books about a magical, mystical old lady living in the Australian bush; and MAENAD, another dark dramatic fiction novel. 

 SAMPLE CHAPTER: https://tinyurl.com/n7xwrh5

 WHERE TO BUY IT:  Amazon: https://tinyurl.com/n7xwrh5

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/35353

Barnes and Noble: https://tinyurl.com/n3otqfn

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/au/en/ebook/damaged-goods-26 

PRICE: $2.99

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: Website: http://www.cahocking.com  

Email: cahocking.author@gmail.com


Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

