The Breeding Tree

The Breeding Tree (Destiny by Design Book 1) by [Andersen, J.]THE BOOK: The Breeding Tree: Book 1, Destiny by Design series.
 
PUBLISHED IN: 2017


THE AUTHOR:
  J. Andersen

THE EDITOR
: Courtney Dudek, Rowena Kuo

THE PUBLISHER
: Brimstone Fiction.

Brimstone Fiction is a traditional book publisher that offers unique print and eBook titles.

Initially an imprint of Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas, Brimstone first launched in March, 2014. With expansion over the next three years, Brimstone Fiction became its own publishing house in February, 2017. With a primary focus on YA Speculative Fiction, Brimstone will extend to publish other fiction genres. Speculative Fiction may include, but is not restricted to, Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Chiller Thrillers with Supernatural/Paranormal elements.

www.brimstonefiction.com

J. AndersenSUMMARY: When Katherine Dennard is selected to become a “Creation Specialist” in Sector 4, the opportunity sounds like a dream come true. But Kate soon discovers the darker side of her profession – the disposal of fetal organs and destruction of human life. It makes sense, really. In a society where disease and malformations don’t exist, human perfection demands that no genetic “mutants” be allowed to live. For Sector 4, “survival of the fittest” is not just a theory – it’s The Institute’s main mission.

When Kate discovers that The Institute is using her DNA to create new life, her work gets personal. In order to save her unviable son, she’ll have to trust Micah and his band of underground Natural Born Rebels. The problem is, if The Institute discovers her betrayal, the next body tossed in the trash could be hers.

“This is a powerful story about the meaning and value of life–we don’t have enough of those.” ~ Terry Trueman, Printz Honor author, Stuck in Neutral

THE BACK STORY
: I’ve always loved dystopian literature but never had an idea for one. Before this, I wrote (and continue to write) contemporary YA. The entire story came to me in one setting and I got busy! It took about 8 months to write, but that’s just the beginning of the publishing process.

WHY THIS TITLE?: I didn’t originally choose this title. It was first called The Unviables because in this society, if a child is deemed unviable according to the government’s standards, it’s disposed of. However, the publisher suggested it be changed, so I brainstormed with my writer’s group and we came up with The Breeding Tree, along with many other suggestions. I live in a rural community. When farmers breed cattle, they attach them to a post called the breeding tree. My friend suggested that since the people in the book are often treated like cattle, it would be appropriate. The publisher liked this title the best out of the several I sent.

WHY WOULD SOMEONE WANT TO READ IT?
It’s geared toward YA, but many of my readers are adults. If you like dystopian literature in the vein of The Hunger Games or Divergent, this will be right up your alley.

REVIEW COMMENTS
:

Amazon Reviewer:  Quite a plot! I was wondering if it was going to be a major chick book, but it turned out to be really intense! Loved it! Warning: You will get the sequel!

Amazon reviewer:  The Breeding Tree, what a great name for a great book. Once again J. Andersen has spun her magic and created a story that is fiction but fits into events that are unfolding all around us. There are people who want to control our every move, our words, our actions and even how we look. The Nazis tried to accomplish that with their hideous experiments in genetic engineering. Ms. Andersen has taken this evil and projected it into the future where the Institute manipulates the lives of the people who have fallen under their control. The characters are real, the story line is real and shockingly appears to be out of today’s headlines. The writer of At What Cost has now given us The Breeding Tree. Excellent read, I highly recommend it. I give it five stars.

Amazon reviewer:  It’s been years since I’ve read fiction for pleasure. The Breeding Tree captured my interest from the first pages and held my attention until the end. Andersen’s descriptive writing creates characters you immediately feel connected to and feel as though you know them personally. I was engrossed with the storyline and, although I am a speed reader, I couldn’t read fast enough for my curiosity as to what would happen next. Anderson’s imagination shines as she creates a futuristic world that is within the realm of reason and seems plausible, all the while challenging the reader on their stance on the sanctity of human life. This book far exceeded my expectations, and I am looking forward to reading book two of the Destiny by Design series!

 

Amazon reviewer: This book is an amazingly written and very well thought out. The issues that Ms Andersen bring up are incredibly pertinent to the issues we face today as a species. I truly believe that if we refuse to face the issues that she brings up, we will truly suffer all around. I suffer from a painful genetic disease, and would truly love to see it eradicated, but unless we can come up with an ethical line to tampering with the human genome, then we shouldn’t try and middle with what we don’t truly understand. This is a truly thought provoking book, and I am impatiently awaiting the sequels!


AUTHOR PROFIL
E: J. Andersen likes to write books, but doing so means slaying the dragons of procrastination while trudging through piles of laundry to make it to the computer. This small town, stay at home mom and former English teacher may be a world builder by day and a superhero by night, but that doesn’t mean she can ignore making dinner or driving the kids to music lessons.

SAMPLE CHAPTER: https://www.amazon.com/J.-Andersen/e/B008BKDK0I/

TO BUY IT: Amazon, Brimstonefiction.com.

PRICE: Free with Kindle Unlimited, .99c- Kindle, $11.95- print

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: www.jandersenbooks.com, www.facebook.com/jandersenbooks, www.twitter.com/jvdlandersen, www.instagram.com/jandersenbooks.

Advertisements

Published by

writersbridgebridgebuilder

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s