Tune in Tomorrow

THE BOOK: Tune in Tomorrow: The Curious, Calamitous, Cockamamie Story Of Starr Weatherby And The Greatest Mythic Reality Show Ever,

PUBLISHED IN: 2022

THE AUTHOR: Randee Dawn

THE EDITOR: Michael Rowley, Jim Killen

THE PUBLISHER: Solaris, an imprint of Rebellion Publishing. Rebellion is the leading European games development company, and Rebellion Publishing is the winner of Best Independent Press from the 2020 British Fantasy Awards.

SUMMARY: Starr Weatherby is a struggling actor who just can’t get her big break. She found her spark for acting during an improv class where she had to perform as a singing mango – and ever since then, her mantra for finding strength in adversity has been: Be the mango! Fortunately, she was also discovered during that improv performance – and is now the new hire on a reality TV “docusoap” no one seems to have heard of: Tune in Tomorrow. And there’s a good reason for that – Tune in Tomorrow is a show made by mythical creatures, for mythical creatures – starring humans.

After getting over her initial astonishment at working in a fantasy world, Starr quickly rises to become a fan favorite – but there are serious speedbumps: Fiona, the show’s veteran diva, is having an All About Eve moment and will do anything to ensure Starr doesn’t usurp her position on the show; the “interns” (actually helpful Brownies) are thinking of unionizing; Nico, the show lothario seems to have a dark agenda – and what did happen to Starr’s predecessor Amelia, who vanished one day? No one will explain.

Meanwhile, the show itself is in danger of being canceled – and is already starting to fall apart. How will Starr survive, win an award that will allow her to appear on the show indefinitely – and save Tune in Tomorrow from being axed? She’s gonna have to be a really good mango to make this all work!

THE BACK STORY: I’ve been a writer for a long time, and have novels that got me an agent – but never a publisher. They were still fantasy, and largely based on rock stars and Irish folkore, but they weren’t selling. So my agent – the brilliant Bridget Smith – suggested I try something a little different. That much can be enough to shake loose the cobwebs. Simultaneously, I’d started working with an online text-based “choose your own adventure” style game company called Choice of Games. I came up with the bones of Tune in Tomorrow as a possible game for them. But the coding of it all overwhelmed me, and I took the story and decided to turn it into a novel. After all, it was already outlined! The nature of the story also insisted on it being bigger than life and funny, so that was new to me as well. I never thought I could be intentionally funny, and of course what I think is hilarious not everyone will. Bad straight fiction is just that, bad; bad funny fiction is embarrassing. But based on feedback, I think I might have just written something “funny as hell,” as the delightful author Zin E. Rocklyn calls the book in her blurb.

WHY THIS TITLE?: Tune in Tomorrow is the phrase many old fashioned soap operas, or cliffhangers, used to use when they were on the radio and in the earliest days of TV. We’re so used to binge-watching and

being told a whole story in one go that we forget what it was like to only get one hour, or one half-hour, of TV a week – and have to wait another seven days to continue the story! The show in the book is a soap opera that’s perceived as real-life human behavior by the mythics who watch it, and reality TV is just the latest iteration of soap operas anyway. So it fit perfectly!

WHY WOULD SOMEONE WANT TO READ IT? Funny fantasy is a little hard to find. There are great ones like The Princess Bride and anything by Terry Pratchett but Tune in Tomorrow gives the funny fantasy genre a modern upgrade, thanks to the pop culture references and TV setting. Plus, there’s a little bit of everything in there for everyone: a maybe-murder mystery, backstage shenanigans, a love triangle, centaurs playing capture the flag, and even a reference to Che Guevara.

REVIEW COMMENTS:

“Dawn balances over-the-top drama and comedy with genuine intrigue to create a fun story with plenty of heart. Fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett will want to snatch this up.” – Publishers Weekly

“I thought I’d seen everything in the galaxy of reality TV, until Randee’s book!” – Andy Cohen, Host / Executive Producer, Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen and New York Times bestselling author

“Randee Dawn has single-handedly created a glittering new genre: the Backstage Comedy Fantasy Romance — and I want more!” – Ellen Kushner, World Fantasy Award-winning author of Thomas the Rhymer and Swordspoint

AUTHOR PROFILE: Randee Dawn has been writing about the glam world of entertainment by day and fantastical fictional worlds by night for many years. She’s a TV and movie addict with a soft spot for musicians, and is nosy enough to always have tons of questions to ask any creator or star she comes across. During the recent pandemic lockdown her natural baking inclinations turned into full-blown obsession, and she makes regular sourdough bread, mango cakes and ice cream for her party guests.

Her first published book was The Law & Order: SVU Unofficial Companion, co-authored with the late Susan Green. Law & Order is another long-time obsession, and she’s even appeared in one episode. In the courtroom. In the background. As a sketch artist. Next time, her mom has said, “Tell Sam Waterston to move over so we can see you better.” She’s also had short stories published in outlets and anthologies including Dim Shores, Children of a Different Sky, Where We May Wag, Fantasia Divinity and Samhain Secrets. She is the co-editor of Across the Universe: Tales of Alternative Beatles.

As for that showbiz stuff, her articles have been published in Variety, the Los Angeles Times, Today.com and Soap Opera Digest, among many others. She resides in Brooklyn, New York surrounded by her brilliant spouse, her fluffy Westie, many books and never enough mangoes.

AUTHOR COMMENTS: I’ve been writing stories since I was old enough to make them up about my stuffed animals, and sharing them with friends since middle school. But in a professional context, it took me a very long time to be willing to share my fiction with outsiders. I was very precious about my work and didn’t understand the true value of editing and revising. Tune in Tomorrow is the result of a many, many years-long learning process, during which I discovered a whole community of writers and editors who actually really mean well and want you to succeed – without them, I might still be in my room writing stories for an audience of one. The accomplishment of having a novel out, I know, is as much a combination of talent as it is luck – but what few people understand is just how persistent and bull-headed you have to be to get those words out in the world. On the one hand, anyone can go on Amazon and self-publish anything in a matter of minutes – and that makes it seem deceptively easy. But someone willing to go through the evolution of writing, then writing again, and again (Tune in Tomorrow has no fewer than 11 revisions), then showing it to an editor, beta readers, an agent and then hear that there are more edits from a publishing house that wants to put it into the world – deep breath – well, that is a commitment. It’s also a filtering process: You filter your story until it shines like pure gold, and you – if you’re lucky – come out on the other side with a story you can be proud of. Publishing may be the end goal, but the journey is about so much more than that.

SAMPLE:

WHERE TO BUY IT:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Tune-Tomorrow-Randee-Dawn/dp/1786186306/

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/tune-in-tomorrow-randee-dawn/1141411341 Indiebound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781786186300

Powell’s: https://www.powells.com/book/tune-in-tomorrow-9781786186300

PRICE: $16.99 – $14.99

CONTACT THE AUTHOR:

https://twitter.com/randeedawn https://www.facebook.com/AuthorRandeeDawn https://www.instagram.com/randeedawn/ https://www.tiktok.com/@randee.dawn https://www.bookbub.com/authors/randee-dawn https://randeedawn.com/contact/ https://randeedawn.com/newsletter/

Published by

bridgetowriters

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s