Life in the Blogosphere

See the source image

THE BOOK: Life in the Blogosphere: My View of Life as It Happens

PUBLISHED IN: 2020

THE AUTHOR: Linda S. Smith

THE EDITOR: Joyce Maddox

THE PUBLISHER: Warwick House Publishers, Lynchburg, VA

SUMMARY: “Life in the Blogosphere” is a compilation of my blogs from 2013 – 2018. Divided into chapters, each blog entry is relevant to some experience I’ve had or an incident that has happened and affected me in some way. The blog entries range from very serious to funny; through personal loss to exceptional moments of clarity and learning.

Image preview

THE BACK STORY: Somewhere around 2010 you, Darrell, encouraged me to write a blog but I didn’t feel I had the time. In 2013 I finally gave it a try and have never regretted it. It is the perfect vehicle for self-expression and a way to connect positively with those that follow me.

In 2018 I decided to compile all the blog entries I liked best into a book, with each blog in a specific chapter. The feedback I received monthly to my blog posts on WordPress was amazing and I saw a book as a way to reach more readers.

WHY THIS TITLE: In my mind’s eye I saw my blogs swirling around the universe in a place I called the “blogosphere.” Since the book was about my reactions to life events and experiences, “Life in the Blogosphere” seemed like the perfect title. See book cover …

WHY SOMEONE WOULD WANT TO READ IT: Because it offers a humorous look at life through the eyes of the author as well as a look at the seriousness of life (a personal cancer diagnosis, death) and my personal, often quirky look at events as they unfold. I believe, as our minister said after reading the book, “it really has something for everyone” … it will resonate on some level with a broad spectrum of readers.

The cover, designed by cover artist, Amy Moore is fun and funny and incorporates glimpses of the stories within.

REVIEW COMMENTS: See the back cover of book to the right, written by Amy Moore, the cover artist

AUTHOR PROFILE: I was born in Salisbury, NC. My dad died when I was 6 and my mom did both his job & hers … giving me a good and memorable childhood. She read to me and instilled in me a love for books and literature. She was an exceptional role model and I was fortunate to have been her daughter. We lived with my grandmother after the loss of my dad.

My mom remarried when I was 10 and we moved to Virginia. I got a step sister and a step brother with the blending of our families. I went to Amherst County public schools and to nursing school at Lynchburg General Hospital School of Nursing. In 1987 I met my current husband. We married in 1997 and he has been the “constant” in my life.

I had a memorable career as an OR Nurse for 38 years and took an early retirement in order to enjoy my life away from the stress, hours and “call” in the OR. 18 months later I was diagnosed with breast cancer, which was a turning point in my life.

Since the breast cancer experience I began a second career as a TV talk show host for six years, I speak to seminars and groups about breast cancer, wrote a book of original poetry that was published in 2013 and recently have begun speaking about fundraising and being a professional woman. I am president of a local non-profit that sponsors 10 charities at Christmas and sends a local student to NASA’s Space Camp annually.

Even with the bumps in my road, I’ve done most of the things I’ve wanted to do with my life. I’ve had a successful medical career, own my dream home with my husband, Willy, have had a second career in television, have written a book and been published, head a successful non-profit organization that is a helping presence in our community, am writing a blog with a number of followers (which has surprised me), have a number of really good friends and I’ve shared my life with some amazing cats. Looking back, I think that means, to me anyway, that I’ve been successful….

I wouldn’t change a thing and am at peace with life ………..

AUTHOR COMMENTS: After this book was published I read it, attempting to do that without a jaundiced eye. The last time I’d read it was during the second edit and that was for correction, not content. After reading it I genuinely liked it and am VERY proud of this book. I also believe it has all the qualities you are looking for in a book to feature in Snowflakes in a Blizzard. It is different and far from ordinary. It presents a different and often quirky way of looking at life and I believe it will resonate with a number of readers. As our minister said after reading the book, “it really has something for everyone.”

WHERE TO BUY IT: Through the author only, currently

PRICE: $19.95

CONTACT THE AUTHOR: Email: heimdalco@aol.com

Phone: (434) 929-5726 (unlisted)

Address:

151 Regal Oaks Way

Amherst, VA 24521

Published by

bridgetowriters

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

4 thoughts on “Life in the Blogosphere”

  1. Sound delightful. I’ll contact you to purchase a copy. So cool to catch up with classmates and get a glimpse of their life after ACHS. Best of luck. I’ve enjoyed reading an occasional blog. Hope to see you again at a future Class of ’63 reunion!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoyed reading Linda’s 2 books so much. So interesting as they cover a variety of subjects and some with humor. I read them hurriedly the first time, but will read them again soon and focus more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda,

    I love your blog entries and always take the time to read them. With your one book that I own, I’ve found myself picking it up and reading it again from time to time. Your experiences in life have left you with many wonderful stories to tell, so I’m definitely going to get a copy of your latest book. Good luck with it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment