The only thing that makes sense is to grow

THE BOOK: The only thing that makes sense is to grow.

PUBLISHED IN: January 2020

THE AUTHOR: Scott Ferry

THE EDITOR: Eric Morago

THE PUBLISHER: Moon Tide Press

SUMMARY: The Only Thing That Makes Sense Is to Grow traces the lineage of a family through the voices of its ghosts. This collection takes the grief and residue of generations, places it in moist soil, and lets it root and spread into unlikely openings of enlightenment and humor. Yet, far from being opaque, these poems remain accessible and edible as the cherry tomatoes that somehow survived this dry and bitter stretch. Life and death, decay and regeneration, childhood and blind adulthood, and language and its innate power to heal are all themes that weave through these narrative poems with a refreshing candor.

Poets on Craft: Jonathan Yungkans and Scott Ferry - Cultural Daily

THE BACK STORY: I could have titled this collection 42 Poems about Ghosts, Grief, and Gardening, but it was shot down by my wife (for good reason). These poems came out of a fertile period of writing in which I examined my roots through my father and even my great great grandparents to illuminate my immediate family life and dynamics. Many of the characters who have passed are very much alive literally and figuratively either as ghosts or in our words and bodies. Gardening becomes a metaphor for many things: renewal from death, weeding the anxieties, expectations not growing to reality. Throughout, the way I parent my daughter shines through the way I was parented, for better or for worse. There is a reckoning of mistakes and a hope for change. This was therapeutic to write as it walked me through the stages of grief. Ultimately, I will hopefully take the reader with me back into an early summer light and the promise of a new birth.

AUTHOR PROFILE: Scott Ferry helps our Veterans heal as a RN in the Seattle area. He has 2 books of poetry: The only thing that makes sense is to grow (Moon Tide, 2020) and Mr. Rogers kills fruit flies (Main St. Rag, 2020). His third book, These Hands of Myrrh, will be published by Kelsay Books in late 2021. More of his work can be found @ ferrypoetry.com.

REVIEWS

“In his short collection The only thing that makes sense is to grow Scott Ferry fashions a world where the ability to speak with the spirits of the loved dead may be inherited, where these voices “remind [us] that clocks and flesh do not/represent reality” (“Another Time, Another Wand”). Life and death, the personal past, and the farrago of dreams, freighted with fantasy, are woven into the fabric of these imagistic poems in which trauma may be healed, and fear of the future smoothed away. Ferry aspires to be a healer, nurturing the “infestations we want” (“Weeds, suffering”), but learns that “growth cooperates/very little when it is forced” (“Dice, marigolds, molecules”), accepting at the last that he has “overestimated [his] power to kill, to control anything” (“It is April Again”). —Robbi Nester

“This isn’t a book of obscure or esoteric poetry; it touches on things we hold in common. These poems read like double-exposures, and you’ll see yourself in the truths touched upon in this book. I feel a kindred spirit in the way Scott Ferry talks about family. An examined life is like walking in a house of mirrors; you see your parents in the way you parent, see your childhood in your own child and, of course, your ancestors will speak to you if you begin to listen.” — Daniel McGinn.

“Scott Ferry has a tender heart. These remarkable poems celebrate family in all its messy glory, elevating the quotidian into art.” — Alexis Rhone Fancher

SAMPLE

My mother calls me

to tell me her mother died.

We visited Grandmother Downes

in the hospital yesterday.

I made a joke about the aqua fluid

flowing into her arm as she slowly

fell away. What is that stuff,

blue food? And she laughed.

I didn’t want her to see me in despair.

I thought that would make it worse

for her.

My mother told me later

that when she and her sister were

in the room and their mother

suddenly became lucid,

even cheerful, they asked her

Is papa here? She nodded

emphatically and the television

in the room turned on by itself,

blaring noise and color.

Papa had passed many years before.

They asked the nurse why

the television turned on and she didn’t

have an answer, and swept out of

the room as quickly as she could.

After my mother called, the phone

rang again. I assumed it was another

one of my relatives telling me

of her death. I said I know, I’m ok

before anyone could speak.

Then I listened for a response,

and waited. Nothing but faint

breathing, errant static.

I held the phone for about

a minute, still nothing.

I hung up. I never

knew who it was.

The way my father ate chicken (Originally appeared in MacQueen’s Quinterly)

revealed the source of his hunger.

He assimilated each leg quickly and thoroughly,

lapping every sinew and hanging thread of its juice.

He glanced at my bones when I set them down

and shook his head. You missed a lot of meat.

He was born in 1932, in the middle of the starving.

His father died at age 26 from heart damage

from the Spanish Flu and Strep.

His mother remarried a selfish man who spent

little attention on Lyle, more on a bottle.

His stepfather Gary would refer to him as the boy

to his wife while Lyle sat right next to him at the table,

as in Can you tell the boy to mow the lawn?

Lyle decided to become more than a third person,

winning student body president at both

Excelsior High and Long Beach State.

He cruised his Austin-Healey with charm,

joined the elite fraternity, visited the UCLA

chapter and stole all their women (he bragged).

He became an English teacher in his old neighborhood

while most of his friends became multi-millionaires.

We still skied with the Haleys in Mammoth,

visited the Malloys on San Juan Island,

but there was always a vacuum in his mouth,

lack in his words. He began to bald, so he spent

nearly an hour each morning spraying

aerosol maple on his scalp and fashioning

his side hair over his crown. I can still taste

the PVP in the air by the three-way mirror.

His glib and perfuse words failed to direct his family,

because we had swallowed them too many times.

He turned to shouting. We knew he was still

the president, he didn’t need to remind us every day,

with 10,000 words. Of course, we stopped

listening. And in the barking, I heard

the brittle hunger of a boy, two thin bones

on his plate.

Sunset through the wires (Originally appeared in Cultural Weekly)

I have taken pictures of the sanguine

descent of the sun behind Mt. Jupiter and Mt. Constance

from my back deck in blue-collar Renton. Not only

do the Olympics shrink and the novels of blood-cloud

thin to excerpts, but seven electrical wires bisect the frame.

When I am standing there at 9:30 with my wife,

the dew falling out the air with faint winds,

bare soles on the cooling wood, we can

imagine it without impediments, without

the five trucks on the lawn across the street,

without the tin glow of Benson Center.

We can imagine away many things.

We live in continual imagining,

either that horrors do not exist

because they do not cut us,

or that we are so lucky to actually

own a home we spend 5/7ths of our lives

working to afford. But more conveniently,

we can be content with the canvas before us

by editing it on the way from the optic chiasma

to the visual cortex to the cerebrum to the reward

and satiety centers. We choose, ignore, wash, reflect

any number of actual details. We have different

methods of dealing with discontent. I vow

to fix and clean and dispose and finish.

My wife plans whole new houses in France,

designs campervans with solar powered escape buttons.

But there are still black scars, children starving,

corporations and memes selling our peace

back to ourselves with interest, the peace

we were born with and have always had,

in and through our light. And if my wife

stands close enough I can feel her and can

frame it all: bile, arsenic, lies, compassion,

forgiveness, grace. And I can still breathe

in her neck and shudder and hold

and breathe again.

Published by

bridgetowriters

Recently retired after 35 years with the News & Advance newspaper in Lynchburg, VA, now re-inventing myself as a novelist/nonfiction writer and writing coach in Lake George, NY.

Leave a comment